Remembering my Childhood Days

The rain and sweet smell of cut grass remind me of mornings when I was a child, waking up with my window open––staying in bed while the law mowers started up, kids began to slip outside after breakfast to play. Sometimes Toby, our yellow cat, would return from his midnight travels and visit me in my room.

We would play hop-scotch on the sidewalk,, throwing our stones at the numbered squares. My bicycle turned upside down on its seat and handle bars to turn the gears; we put a playing card in the spokes to mimic the sounds of motors.

One sumer, I cut the next-door neighbor boy’s hair and his father got screaming angry and came to our door to complain to my mother––the boy’s name was Tommy Gray and he had blond hair.

I saw a black snake slither under the porch one day, and I never went under their to hide again We had more snakes in those days unless it was just because I was outside more often.

I played with stones, all colors, they came from the back driveway and any new gravelly area I visited. We also played a lot of marbles. Every kid had a bag of marbles to throw down for a quick game of “take away.” We made a hole at the base of a tree, and tossed marbles  from a distance toward the hole. Anyone getting their shooter the closest to the pot got to keep all the marbles in there; you lost your shooter, if you went into the pot with it

The summer nights we would run after the jeeps spraying DDT at the mosquitoes. It was like wonderland running in the fog of toxic fumes that we wouldn’t find out about until we were adults and it was too late to unbreathe the stuff!

My parents would call me in at 9 o’clock even though it had been dark an hour before. We had no worries of bad happenings in a small town in summer in those days. Inside, we would have the mosquito stuff washed off our arms and legs and be put to bed––I always read under my covers with a flashlight; comics when younger, then True Confessions magazines in my teens. I was always tired in the morning.

Published in: Uncategorized on September 21, 2012 at 3:49 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jackiella.wordpress.com/2012/09/21/remembering-my-childhood-days/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I remember the DDT trucks, too. It’s amazing what we have survived!


Leave a Reply

