A Golden Eagle Flew With Me Today


On this fall day
traveling a rustic road
in Wisconsin’s north country
I’d come upon three of them
feasting by the roadside. 

Thinking they were crows
perhaps pheasants
or when they launched skyward
maybe hawks; 

Then one of the three banked right
coming within a wing-span of my window
gliding next to me barely dipping to capture lift .

My drive forward, his bronze head parallel
until I finally pulled over
marveling at how a day such as this
can be anything but fine
freedom traveling my way.

Poem: Jackiella
Eagle Nebula – NASA

Published in: Uncategorized on September 1, 2010 at 2:30 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jackiella.wordpress.com/2010/09/01/a-golden-eagle-flew-with-me-today/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

