Happy Valentine’s Week

Photo by Bobbie Krinsky

A Slowly Beating Heart

But if I were to have a lover
he would be different. I’ve had a strong man–he didn’t talk,
sharpened things in the basement, moved walls, built additions.
The second was a sensitive man, he had to be coddled
and listened to every minute of the day.
So next time what–a half sensitive man? No,
actually what I want is 

a one week stand–a good looking, mature man,
a little soft around the middle.  He will know I’m special
but won’t have expectations for our future. 
I won’t wear silken things unless I feel silken
and I won’t fuck with the lights on under a mirror–
I’m past such nonsense
aren’t I? 

We’ll have bagels and cinnamon nut coffee
walk a little on the beach
and then go back to our room and fall asleep
listening to each other’s slowly beating heart.

Published in: on February 11, 2010 at 10:55 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jackiella.wordpress.com/2010/02/11/happy-valentines-week/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. A great piece, Jackie . . . and though you may be better without, I wish for you that one-week stand.
    ~ R.


Leave a Reply

